top of page

The Phrygian scale is considered a minor scale as its home chord is a minor triad.


The intervals are Minor 2nd, Minor 3rd, Perfect 4th, Perfect 5th, Minor 6th and Minor 7th. 

The Swars are Sa, re, ga, ma, Pa, dha, ni – all Shuddh except komal, re, ga, dha and ni.

In a song is based on the A Phrygian scale, you would commonly find the chords Am, Bb, C, Dm, Edim, F, Gm. Songs based on Raag Bhairavi also use the same notes!

This scale is also called the Phrygian Mode or the 3rdmode of the Diatonic Scale, as it has the same interval spacing as the standard major scale, but uses the 3rdnote of the major scale as its Tonic note.  For instance, the E Phrygian scale (E, F, G, A, B, C, D) is also the 3rd mode of the C Diatonic scale (C, D, E, F, G, A, B). In other words, songs based on both scales will have the same chords, but the home chord will be different. 

Here’s a fretboard diagram showing the notes in an A Phrygian scale. If you take the 6th note of the scale, which is F, as your Tonic note, you will get the F Major scale (F, G, A, Bb, C, D, E). And if you take the 4th note of the scale, which is D, as your Tonic note, you will get the D Natural Minor or Aeolian scale (D, E, F, G, A  Bb, C)

Read "Khaas Baat" handbook for more!

bottom of page