top of page

A diminished seventh chord (dim7) has a diminished triad plus a diminished seventh interval. For instance, a Cdim7 chord has the notes C, Eb, Gb, A.


The Swars are Sa, ga, Ma and Dha.


As the interval between each pair of notes is a minor third, the chord sounds the same regardless of the root. Edim7 sounds the same as Gdim7, Bbdim7 and Dbdim7. 

Let me also try to clarify interval naming conventions. The same interval can have different names! The interval from C to B (just before the octave) is called a major 7th interval (Sa to Shuddh Ni). The interval from C to Bb (Sa to Komal ni) is called a minor 7th interval. And the interval from C to A (Sa to Shuddh Dha) can be called either a diminished 7th interval or a major 6th interval. So, if you are playing a C6 chord (C, E, G, A), the A note here is referred to as a major 6th interval. But if you are playing a C dim7 chord (C, Eb, Gb, A), you would refer to the A note as a diminished 7th interval! 

A dim 7 chord can sound very unsettling. It does not have a Perfect 5th interval or Pa note. Instead, it has a Teevra Ma, and the interval from Sa to Teevra Ma does not sound satisfying and is known as a dissonant interval.


Diminished chords work well as passing chords. So, if you are playing in the C Scale, and the melody moves F to F# to G, you can move from an F (F, A, C) to a F# dim (F#, A, C) to a chord (C, E, G). This will sound nicer if you play the appropriate inversions and let the lowest or highest note move from F to F# to G!

Common Positions

KB - Cdim7 - 1.PNG

Cdeim7 (X,3,4,2,5, X)

Read "Khaas Baat" handbook for more!

bottom of page